Home > General, Random thoughts > Why I’ve given up on reaching out to angry atheists

Why I’ve given up on reaching out to angry atheists

September 17, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

This article sums it up better than I could ever write it:

http://blogs.christianpost.com/confident-christian/profile-of-a-hatetheist-10298/

If I ever come across a respectful atheist who seems genuinely concerned about finding the truth, I will gladly engage in dialogue with that person even if I have to go out of my way and inconvenience myself greatly.

But from what I’ve observed, too many people seeking discussions with Christians are only out to “win” and tear down what you hold so dear…which would be fair if they could lean on sound logic at least. It really does feel like an exercise in futility, though, and I’m encouraged to read that even Jesus recognized a useless battle when He saw one:

Matthew 15:14: “Let them alone; they are blind guides of the blind. And if a blind man guides a blind man, both will fall into a pit.”

People who aren’t interested in the truth would not accept truth even if you spoon-fed it to them. This is one of the reasons why this blog has slowed considerably…I like that it can help current believers, but my original purpose and passion of shedding light to those who wanted to see it has almost burned out. I pray that God will instill love in my heart so that I can at least pray for these kinds of people, but it’s difficult to even care sometimes when people are so disrespectful of such a majestic God.

  1. December 28, 2012 at 7:21 pm

    Amen brother! I am struggling with the *same* issue. Y’know,about a year ago I started an online “ministry”of sorts. I became a member of a Christian forum , a debate forum and (regrettably) an atheist forum. A year later I’m still active in the Christian forum,every now and then in the debate forum and I’ve had about 30 posts in the atheist forum. I found the atheist forum to be a waste of time. What’s even worse is the other Christians (or Christ-tards as we’re called there) seem to be making little impact other than comic relief. I am in the process of putting together a blog that will include copy/paste comments to illuminate the mindset of the “average” atheist. This blog will show the mockery and disrespect that was poured out every day. In due respect to God I not only accepted the mockery and teasing as I’m supposed to but the constant disrespect of the person of Jesus and the awesomeness of God sharpened me like a pencil and I started concerning myself with defending God by making comments that were rather un-Christian like of me and I don’t want to lower myself to their level but my temper got the better of me. Now,I just avoid the atheist forum all together though I must admit I feel defeated and I feel like satan won that battle. Somehow when it comes to God I have a hard time NOT defending God even though in my logical mind I know God doesn’t NEED me to defend Him! I try and minister to the atheists on the Christian forum but its seemingly just as fruitless. These folks are atheist and I guess they just haven’t been convicted yet or they have and decided not to listen.
    The long and short is I have lost sight of my original intent to minister. Oddly, it would appear at times some atheists were receptive to my speaking of God and even led me to believe they were truly seeking God but it turned out to be an atheist “trick” every time. Seemingly it’s funny to them to lie about who you are and your what your beliefs are and after what appears to be a rather insightful and informative discourse the rug would be pulled out from under me (usually live in the forum rather than in a private message) so that the other forum atheists could have a giggle!!
    I pray for you as you consider your future with the online ministry and hope that you are a stronger Christian than I am. I enjoy your posts regardless.

    • Joe
      March 18, 2013 at 11:10 am

      Hi tnmusicman,

      I just wanted to let you know that I read your comment a while back but lost my chance to respond to it promptly. I agree with everything you said brother, and I feel for your struggle. Like the parable of the sower teaches, our job is just to spread the seed out there and hope it lands on good soil. We can’t ever change the condition of the soil in a person’s heart…only the Holy Spirit can do that. So let’s not lose hope and press on, but maybe be better about picking our battles. =)

      May God bless you and your walk continually.

      Joe

      • June 12, 2013 at 6:08 pm

        Thanks Joe. I have used the time to educate myself further on the various arguments for Gods existence and while I enjoy the study of apologetics it’s an uphill battle in the real world. Suffice to say my stupid learning disability has definatly made things harder but I’m continuing to solder on confidant that some if the info I’m reading will “stick” up there somehow!
        I more or less read the Christian forums every few days and am always overjoyed that a few Christians have the knowledge to answer any question thrown at them! I continue to try and learn all I can and pray The Lord understands my situation and doesn’t hold it against me. I’m not out forever. Just for a short while. When I return I will be better prepared to answer those questions the atheists love to ask.

  2. December 28, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    Reblogged this on Tnmusicman's Blog and commented:
    This is pretty much where I’m at now. I’ve just lost my vim and vigor for ministering to the already determined atheist.

  3. The benign believer
    June 24, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    One who has given up reason will not actually desire the truth. Trying to instill it in them is equivalent to prescribing medication to the deceased.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

