Home > Apologetics > Upcoming posts: addressing the biggest objections to Christianity

Upcoming posts: addressing the biggest objections to Christianity

This week, I will attempt to start answering the biggest objections to Christianity, at least in the way I’ve dealt with them. These objections have been around for many years, and they probably aren’t going away fully anytime soon. But if another perspective on things helps anyone, it’s worth a shot. Plus, it could help me shore up my own reasoning.

Roughly speaking, I believe these are the most common objections to Christianity:

1. The classic problem of evil and suffering (http://www.christianpost.com/news/the-problem-of-evil-and-suffering-52769/) — logical, emotional, and practical aspects examined.

2. The age of the universe contradicts Genesis 1.

3. There is no evidence for God and science has replaced the need for a god.

4. Christians are hypocrites and have done incredible wrongs.

Obviously, I don’t expect to conclusively settle these matters. Ultimately, the problem lies at a spiritual level. But a drop in the bucket is better than nothing at all. Reasoning and logic can’t get us to the finish line, but it can help get us started.

Categories: Apologetics
  1. michael
    July 26, 2011 at 3:48 pm

    I heard an excellent message this past Sunday from the son of the President of Southeastern Theo.
    He reminded us the importance of proper Theology and Doctrine. The question that we will see more and more will be the problem of evil and so we need to realize the importance as well as teaching/learning it.- very similar to WLC’s frustration with today’s teaching of our faith.

  2. July 28, 2011 at 1:49 pm

    I look forward to your upcoming posts, but what about the problem with hell? I think hell is a real issue for many people and perhaps one of the biggest problems aside from suffering and the genesis/evolution debate. Maybe I should even add the moral of the old testament, but that isn’t perhaps such a big issue like the other three I have mentioned!?

    I really appreciate your blog!

  3. July 28, 2011 at 2:03 pm

    Hello Linus, thank you for chiming in! I’m always open to suggestions and requests.

    I suppose hell is a large hurdle or stumbling block for some. I’m not sure if you caught it, but in April, I shared my views on hell (conditionalism/annihilationism):

    http://live2believe.org/2011/04/16/is-hell-a-literal-place-of-eternal-suffering-and-burning/

    (Also, I discuss some potential reasons why the church may be resistant to this teaching: http://live2believe.org/2011/04/20/why-the-church-may-be-hesitant-to-adopt-conditionalist-views-of-hell-and-why-we-need-to-do-a-better-job/)

    It wasn’t my intention to find a “better” view of hell or anything like that, but to simply find what the Bible teaches. I believe the traditional view isn’t as strongly supported as people assume. Others, like the highly respected and late John Stott, also held this view.

    It’s a long post (the longest I’ve ever written), but I tried to go into detail as to why the traditional view may be off, and why this alternative view is consistent with what we know about God. One thing we can’t get around, however (like Rob Bell tries to do), is God’s judgment and holiness. He simply can’t be in the presence of sin, and God is under no moral obligation to save and sustain those who chose to reject Him. In the annihilationism view, He also doesn’t choose to eternally torment then consciously, either. He gives them the appropriate measure of punishment and justice, then the person ceases to exist.

    I don’t claim to be 100% sure about any of this, but I’m still waiting to see if there are any strong counter-arguments I may have not considered. So far, I haven’t heard any.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

