Home > Uncategorized > Investigating Hell…(preview)

Investigating Hell…(preview)

I’m currently looking (carefully!) into whether our traditional view of “Hell” is accurate. Namely, is it directly and compellingly confirmed with Scripture? I want to be very careful before I even attempt to conclude anything, but I’ll post my thoughts shortly. I have a bad habit of adding more thoughts to my posts after they’re published because my mind keeps racing on the topic. Hopefully, with a day or two to digest at least, I can avoid rushing to a hasty conclusion.

I will say upfront, though, that this traditional view of Hell as a place of eternal suffering and burning…is possibly in error. It’s no question that ancient pagan ideas and art have seeped into Christian culture in early times and have persisted. For instance, it took me a bit of time to discard the idea of Jesus with a halo around his head. Halos came from pagan art, which inspired some well-meaning Christian artists to copy the imagery. This is a pretty trivial thing to discard, so imagine how jarring it can be to rethink my concept of Hell!

But some of my research into this topic is starting to suggest that perhaps our idea of Hell is tainted in this same way. For instance, the idea that souls are necessarily eternal was an ancient Greek one, not a Christian one. Who’s to say that God can’t destroy souls? Anyhow, I’m saying too much now. I’ll write a fuller entry in short time. Hopefully, God will open my eyes and lead me in the right direction.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Allie
    April 16, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Hmm, interesting. I’m interested to see where you go with this and the support you have for your conclusions.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

