Home > General, YouTube > “Christian” embarrassment turns out to be a troll

“Christian” embarrassment turns out to be a troll

Many people have seen her viral YouTube video…the extreme “Christian” girl who was thanking God for the tsunami in Japan. When I saw it, it was another facepalm moment of “oh great, another Christian who makes the rest of us look crazy to the world.”

Well, at least we have one less embarrassment among our ranks. Turns out, she was only trying to be humorous by imitating a “Christian”:

http://socialtimes.com/youtube-troll-tsunami_b42005

I have to admit, I was fooled.

One down, thousands of misguided extremists to go.

*Side thoughts:

When people use examples like this girl to confirm their belief that Christians are idiots, and then it turns out that she’s a tasteless faker, does it perhaps nudge them toward giving the benefit of the doubt next time? Hardly. They’ll just move on to the next example to fuel their anti-Christian sentiments.

I fear that there are sincere Christians out there who may have even agreed with some of this girl’s points. There may have even been people watching the video thinking, “Way to go sister!” I hope not, though.

Really, I think these types of believers are the ones who appeal to the emotional side of religion to a fault. Isn’t it sad and a little disturbing that someone who doesn’t believe in God can pick up on these expressions—verbal, facial, even tonal—so well that it’s hard to tell the difference between her and a “real” believer? This is partly why I have a distaste for people at the church who act and speak this way. To me, it doesn’t seem like a fully genuine way to communicate and to live out one’s faith. Be mindful, sure, but overall just be real…that’s always the best.

If this tragedy somehow does lead some Japanese people toward belief in Christ, then we can rejoice in that when/if it happens. But don’t dare celebrate the loss of countless lives or the destruction of homes, memories, and well being.

  1. April 6, 2011 at 11:59 pm

    I’m curious. How do you view the ills in this world (e. g. Japan tragedy, natural disasters) and still believe in a ‘good’ God? What about psychopaths and/or serial killers? How do they fit into the ultimate ‘creations’ scheme?

  2. April 7, 2011 at 9:04 am

    I began to write an answer here, but I think it was turning into a full entry anyway…so I’ll just post it. I hope you don’t mind. =)

  3. April 7, 2011 at 10:09 am

    Of course I mind. -.-

    I’m kidding. I’ll wait for the post.

  4. October 8, 2014 at 4:56 pm

    I visit daily some web sites and blogs to read content, except this weblog presents feature
    based articles.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

